Nothing Cheesy About It!

Brescianella Stagionata:

Masterfully created in the Lombardy region of Italy, Brescianella Stagionata was a cheese that after one bite I just wanted more!  It is named for the town of Brescia where the cheese is produced by Guffanti.  When I received the package I could smell the pungent aroma of the cheese through the wrapper.  I peeled away with great anticipation the sticky salmon colored washed rind in order to take a heaping taste.

Wow…This cheese definitely made an impact. It more than met my expectations. The cheese is square, pasteurized, cow’s milk. It was brine washed between 4-6 weeks and aged approximately 6 months.  There were some gray and white surface molds mottling the rind (a very common occurrence) and linear ridging on the exterior from maturation on straw.  It was slightly springy yet yielding to the touch.  The sides of this baby were ready and waiting to bust out all over with lusciousness. Brescianella had a slight funky foot fragrance going on.  I have to say that this didn’t prevent me from continuing to investigate.  I picked up some meaty, yeasty, grassy and roasted nuts on the aroma.  The inside was dense ivory-white paste towards the center and more gooey and runny towards the outside.

I scooped some into my mouth… My taste buds went into overdrive.  It was milky dense and mouth coating.  There was a fermented, malty sweetness. I felt like it had the aftertaste of a fine single malt scotch.  Brescianella would be divine melted in a baked potato or in risotto.

I kicked back with a glass of Cote du Rhone which complimented the cheese immensely.  It pairs well with any fruity, earthy medium bodied red like Nebbiolo, Barbera and Grenache based blends.  You can also go with a fruity medium to full-bodied white such as Rhone whites (grapes are Viognier, Marsanne and Roussane) or Alsatian whites (grapes are Riesling, Pinot Blanc, Gewürztraminer and Pinot Gris.)   I cannot wait to have another go at Brescianella Stagiaonata…lip smacking!

Capra Cremosa:

At first glance this goat’s milk cheese looked like a precious little cake.  Capra Cremosa, produced by Guffanti in the Piedmont region of Italy, had a pleasing white, soft but firm paste with black truffle shavings resting on its crown.  The texture was spongy yet creamy.

When I took a mouthful the texture was reminiscent of the creaminess of ricotta and that light spongy feel of fresh mozzarella. The scent was delicate and milky.  I tried this wonderful little cheese on Brown walnut bread with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc.  It was tasty.  The flavor was tangy with a woodsy and earthy element. The woodsy and earthiness appeared to be from the black truffle shavings. When I tried a piece of the cheese from the bottom (where there was less truffle), It tasted more tangy. This cheese would be great with fresh fruit and marmalade.  If you want a little zip added to the experience try a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.  It pairs really well with any light crisp white wine.   You might also want to just kick back and have a lager with this one.

Remember friends, taste is subjective. If you want to know if these cheeses are for you please stop into one of the Bottle King Stores and ask for a taste.  We want to know what you think!

Tags: , , , ,

About lmaybaum

Bottle King's resident Cheese Queen

3 responses to “Nothing Cheesy About It!”

  1. Chris says :

    I visited Ramsey to taste the new cheeses at your recommendation and let me say I was very surprised with how good the cremosa with the truffle was. I don’t typically like goat cheese, but there was something about the simple freshness that really drew me in. The nice lady in charge there also helped me make a few more cheese and cracker selections. Keep up the good work!

    • lmaybaum says :

      Hi Chris,
      Thank you for stopping by the Ramsey Bottle King store to try the new cheeses. I am thrilled you enjoyed the Capra Cremosa with black truffles. You are so right about the freshness in flavor. Donna (who helped you) is wonderful and a fellow cheese aficionado. I hope you enjoyed your other cheese selections.

Leave a Reply

