Meredith Dairy Marinated Feta–An Australian Treasure

One of my favorite dishes is a fresh chopped Greek salad with all the fixings thrown in.  I especially enjoy cubes of feta cheese tossed into it.  I was always under the impression that all feta tasted the same, so I just accepted what was offered.  Boy was I in for a shocker! I came across the most unbelievably tasty morsels of feta that ever graced my lips, Meredith Dairy’s Marinated Feta.  I now consider myself an official feta cheese brat–and I am proud of it!

This award-winning and critically acclaimed cheese is produced in Victoria, Australia on the farm of Julie and Sandy Cameron.  Made predominantly from pasteurized, fresh goat’s milk with pasteurized, fresh sheep’s milk blended in, it has a melt in your mouth creamy texture with a mellower and less salty flavor than Greek feta. It is marinated in a wonderful blend of extra virgin olive oil, fresh garlic, herbs and peppercorns.

This Australian treasure is so delicious and in such high demand that it is difficult to acquire here in the USA.  Because it is so popular we decided to feature it as our March cheese of the month. Balanced with an olive, garlic, and a sweet citrus flavor(reminiscent of a Meyer lemon) with a slight tang this is my new addiction. Shellback Sauvignon Blanc 2010 from New Zealand has tropical and citrus fruits that combine with it’s lively acidity to match the creamy texture and bright flavors of this cheese–truly complimentary.  I find myself looking for ways to use not only the cheese but the marinated oil as well (with great success).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About lmaybaum

Bottle King's resident Cheese Queen

Leave a Reply

