Menage-Mixed Milk Beauty

I had such a fantastic experience at Carr Valley Creamery; I had to continue blogging about the assortment of utterly dazzling cheeses that I had the opportunity to savor-thanks to Beth Wyttenbach, National Sales Manager.  She arranged a special cheese tasting event for all of us turophiles–It was fully appreciated.

One exquisitely interesting cheese that I tasted was Ménage.  The definition of ménage is group; apropos to this cheese in particular because it is made from a blend of cow, sheep and goat’s milk.  This mixed milk beauty is aged for its intense flavor and a delightfully drier texture.  Dipped in a bright green wax, (some say as vibrant as the summer Wisconsin pastures). The interior is off white in color.

While nibbling on a piece I could smell a slight sheepy scent-not overpowering.  I noticed there were little crunchies from the aging process.  The flavor was well balanced, reminding me of white cheddar with a slight tang from the goat’s milk and the texture of an aged Manchego– how can you go wrong with that kick butt combo!

I couldn’t decide which way I wanted to go with my wine pairing -there were quite a few options (Syrah/Shiraz, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Cab or Chianti).  I decided to open up a bottle of Chateau Maris Old Vine Syrah from the Languedoc region of France, poured myself a glass, grabbed a handful of Marcona almonds and sat on my back porch swing enjoying the moment–Bliss!

Tags: ,

About lmaybaum

Bottle King's resident Cheese Queen

One response to “Menage-Mixed Milk Beauty”

  1. Mary More says :

    Hallo You are doing good work writing this posts. I am reading Your posts for some time and i can’t wait for next. Your blog represents Your point of view, that’s what i like .

Leave a Reply

