Chef Sergio’s Muffaletta Mix

If you’ve ever been to New Orleans, you’ll have heard of Muffaletta sandwiches.  Stacked high with Italians meats and cheeses and topped off with a special olive salad, these are a staple down South.  I’ve never left the East coast in all my 20-something years, so when we had a demo for Chef Sergio’s Muffaletta Mix, I was quite intrigued.  The jarred “mix” is the olive salad which is found on Muffaletta sandwiches.  I’m one of those people who dislike olives greatly, so when the demonstrator finally convinced me to give it a try by the end of his shift, I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t taste entirely like olives!  I was hooked!

Chef Sergio’s Muffaletta Mix is made of chopped olives, green bell peppers, celery, carrots, red bell peppers, cauliflower, garlic, onions, and herbs, all blended beautifully in an oil base–with a spicy variety using hot peppers as well for a nice kick of heat without burning your taste buds.  The mixes are gluten free and cholesterol free, making them safe for those who have special diets.

You can enjoyed Muffaletta Mix on sandwiches, as it originated, or on pizza, pasta, chicken, or fish!  I like to just sit around with a 16 oz jar to myself and spoon some onto bread. Mm-mmmm! Delicious!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

