Meet Your Cheesemonger – Glen Rock Vineyard Market

Today you get to meet our Glen Rock Cheese Lead, Angie, who you may remember has written quite a few posts for us in the past!

What’s my story? Well, it starts just like Kara’s did, completely by accident. I began my journey as a cashier at the Ramsey Bottle King while attending Ramapo College. By my senior year, I moved up the ranks to become the Front-End Manager. I graduated in the summer of 2010 with a BA in Political Science and Psychology and started my search for “the perfect job”. After a few months of searching for opportunities in my field and coming up empty, I decided to broaden my horizons. I’ve always had an appreciation for fine foods and so I took a chance and began to learn about the gourmet cheese department from Donna, “The Cheese Queen.” From that moment, I fell in love with the gourmet food world.

Learning and sharing information about artisanal cheeses has become a passion of mine. I have visited numerous creameries around the area and have attended wine and cheese pairing seminars to enhance my knowledge and bring back all that I can to my customers. I want to be able to share more than just what our cheeses taste like. For me, I find the real appreciation for these cheeses is in knowing where they come from and who made them.

I consider myself a natural hostess and nothing makes me happier than putting together parties. As the Cheese Monger of Glen Rock, I am truly in my element. Whether you are looking to put together the perfect date with someone special or some wine and cheese to share with a group of friends, I will gladly help you find exactly what you need to have an experience worth remembering.

As for my favorite cheese, right now it is La Tur. There is just something about this blend of goat, sheep, and cow’s milk that I find I can never get enough of. Every bite is a new flavor experience. The texture is milky and creamy and perfect to spread on a baguette. The cute cupcake shape makes it an easy choice to put out to impress. You’ve just got to try it for yourself.

So that’s my story! Come visit me here in Glen Rock and I will be happy to help you plan your next cheese adventure.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

