Get your spread on

Some of you may already know this, but I think the mass majority is unaware

that I am, in fact,

a nerd.

And I’m not just talking about cheese. Sure, I’m a cheese nerd, but I also consider myself a nerd in the conventional sense of the word: I love comics and video games.

So anyway, my point of bringing this up is that this weekend, I will be leaving the great state of New Jersey for a video game convention in Boston. My boyfriend and I will, of course, be staying in at a hotel for a couple nights–which means snacks are in order!

Lucky for me, we just got in a new treat to the Vineyard Market: Di Bruno Bros. cheese spreads. Here in Glen Rock, I started out by bringing in two of the three flavors they make, and I’m so excited to tell you about them.

I feel like I get asked pretty often for some sort of a beer cheese or beer dip, so ladies and gents, the first flavor by Di Bruno Bros. is Smoked Gouda & Beer. A mixture of cheddar and gouda, this spread is rich and smooth with some pieces of pimento scattered throughout. I could definitely taste the smokiness from the gouda right away on my first bite, and then the beer presents a lovely end note. I could see this great with crackers or pretzels alike, or even melted into some mac and cheese. For all you smoked gouda-lovers out there, this is certainly an item you should check out.

Image-1 (13).jpg

Now, if you don’t know me yet, hi my name is Amber and I’m a chili-head. I love spicy food. The spicier the better really. So as you can probably guess, the other flavor I decided to bring in is a spicy one, called Abbruzze. This flavor has chili flakes, garlic, and herbs and is definitely not a spread for the fainthearted. If you really hate spicy food, this spread is probably not the one for you; however, if you can handle a little heat, I think it’s something you might really enjoy. This one is cheddar-based and has a really nice blend of spices in it making it rich and complex. The heat creeps up on you a bit, and in a range of “not spicy at all” to “it burns your tongue off”, I’d say this guy is on the medium-to-hot side.

Both spreads come in a nicely packaged resealable container, making them perfect for my mini-roadtrip this weekend. You can expect my boyfriend and I to be chowing down on these suckers before bed.

Have you tried Di Bruno Bros. spreads? Let us know what you think in the comments!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

