Comté 6 month – April Cheese of the Month

I know, I know. You’re all saying, “But Amber, it’s not technically April yet!”

Well, I’m sure you’re not all saying that, but I know some people are. And to those people I say, it is officially April 1 in New Zealand!

Really, though. Google it.

ANYWAYS. That brings me back to my point: our newest Cheese of the Month! Many of you may recognize this classic cheese. An oldie but a goodie, the Bottle King Vineyard Markets are featuring Comté! If you’ve been with us here for a while, you may remember Lauren’s post way back when on this cheese.

Hailing from the Franche-Comté region of France, this semi-hard, alpine-style cheese is made from raw cow’s milk–one of my favorites! In my opinion, raw cheeses–that is, unpasteurized cheeses–just offer so much more than their pasteurized counterparts; they’re fuller, richer, more flavorful. This particular French one may strike a familiar note with all my die hard Gruyère lovers out there. When I describe Comté to my customers here, I often use the phrase “the French version of Gruyere” (may neither the French nor Swiss strike me down…). Its lovely full  flavor is all wrapped up within its firm, yellow paste and natural, rough, brown rind.

Image-1 (14)

Comté is an incredibly versatile cheese. When you’ve got a nice, fresh hunk of it, it makes a delightfully nutty and earthy addition to any cheese platter; however, this cheese is also a fantastic melting cheese and a great substitute for anywhere you would normally use Gruyère.

Try it:

  • atop French Onion soup
  • in a grilled cheese with Anna Mae’s Smoky Mustard (my favorite)
  • as a base for mac and cheese
  • as a base for fondue
  • melted over sauteed onions
  • in quiche
  • on a cheese board alongside some rustic crackers & Dalmatia Fig Cocoa Spread
  • in anything and everything that involves cheese

Another amazing thing about Comté? It makes a great pairing with a variety of different wines. Try it with an aged Port, a lighter Riesling, or a fruity Merlot or Pinot Noir. You simply can’t go wrong!

Image-1 (15)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

